Repurpose and More Store Donations AmazonSmile Contact Us
Homepage
>
For Providers > Getting Started

Getting Started

Why do I need to register?

Based on NYS Social Service Law 390, anyone caring for more than two (2) unrelated children on a regular basis, for less than 24 hours per day, must be registered/licensed.

Types of Legal Care In New York State

Family Child Care – NYS Registered
1 Adult (18+) in a residential home caring for 6-8 children, depending on their ages.

The provider must renew their registration. The first renewal is every 2 years, if remaining in compliance, renewal is then every 4 years.

A registered family child care provider may care for:

  • 6 young children not yet school age PLUS 2 school age children. There must be one caregiver for every 2 children under the age of 2.

Informal Child Care- Legally Exempt
1 Adult who cares for no more than 2 children other than their own and/or less than 3 hours per day.

Takes place in a residential home, and is not required to become NYS registered or licensed, but are enrolled as legal child care providers.

Group Family Child Care- NYS Licensed
2 Adults in a residential home, caring for 10-16 children.
The main provider must renew their registration. The first renewal is every 2 years, if remaining in compliance, renewal is then every 4 years

A licensed group family child care provider may care for:

  • 12 young children not yet school age PLUS 4 school age children.

*Regardless of the number of children in care, there must always be one adult caregiver present for every 2 infants under the age of 2 years in a Group Family Child Care home.

School Age Child Care- NYS Registered
Located in a commercial building, school, church, community center, or other public facility.

  • The number of children cared for depends on the square footage of each classroom space.
  • Adult to child ratio varies for young school-agers and older school-agers.

Sometimes, school age programs do not offer child care services on school days off, holidays, or vacations. Parents would need to find alternate care.

Child Care Center- NYS Licensed
Located in a commercial building, school, church, or other public facility.

  • Number of children cared for depends on square footage of each classroom space.
  • There is a different required ratio of adults to children, based on children’s ages.

Can I take care of children before I am registered?
You may legally care for up to 2 unrelated children on a regular basis for more than 3 hours per day. Please call the Child Care Council if you have further questions about legal capacity informal child care.

What is required of me before I become registered or licensed?
Depending on which type of child care you are going to apply for, our staff will assist you in registering for any required classes and completing any necessary paperwork. You may also visit our professional development page, which lists our course offerings.

Child Care Orientation

In order to obtain an application to apply for a child care program license or registration to operate a family day care or group family day care, school age or child care center, you will first need to take Child Day Care Orientation. This orientation will walk you through the information you need to know to determine if you are interested and able to start a child care program in New York State. This orientation will also introduce you to the important rules and regulations you need to know in order to run your business. Start by attending the class online at http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/childcare/infoforproviders.asp or take a live class with us in a group setting.

Call the Registration Department to register or for more details! (585) 654-4720

How long does it take to become registered?
Applications are valid for 6 months from the date of request.
Once you begin working on your application and receive your Documents Received Letter, you have 90 days to complete the entire application.

Do you have to follow a lot of rules in order to be registered?
The “regulations” refers to the guidelines set forth by OCFS in accordance with NYS Social Services Law 390.

The New York State Office of Children and Family Services have a complete list of regulations for each type of child care on their website. Visit Site

Recent News

Attention Employers: Introducing Vroom

September 03 2021

Vroom is an exciting national program that supports healthy child brain development. It shows parents how they can turn activities like bath time and mealtime into opportunities that build their children’s brains. Child Care Council is offering several ways for you to help, such as participating in virtual lunch-and-learn events, including program information in your […]

Read More >
Course Calendar